Eagle Scouts honored

Eagle Scouts honored

GORE — A special Boy Scout ceremony was held at the New Hope United Methodist Church in Gore on Monday, Sept. 23. A court of honor (awards) ceremony was held and awards were presented to the scouts of Troop 395.

Several merit badges, special awards, leadership changes, and rank advancements were earned over the past three months. Over 50 merit badges were presented to the 13 scouts in the troop.

After the awards ceremony, a special ceremony was then held to dedicate the newly secured walnut Eagle Scout wall plague. Engraved metal plates with the names of all 39 scouts that earned their Eagle Scout Award at Troop 395 were affixed to the plague.

During the ceremony scoutmaster Glen Carpenter explained that Boy Scout Troop 395 was first charted in 1956 and has served the Gore community well during the 63 years. He also explained that the Eagle Scout Award is the highest award that a scout can earn and over the years has become a very prestigious award and is a symbol of good character, citizenship, and leadership. He also pointed out that the sponsoring church, New Hope United Methodist Church, has supported both the Boy Scout Troop and Cub Scout Pack programs very well throughout the years.

An attempt was made to contact all 39 Eagle Scouts to participate in this dedication. A total of 22 were able to attend and enjoy the evening of fellowship and reflection. Several of the Eagle Scouts were unable to attend due to evening jobs, long distance of travel, and other commitments. As the ceremony proceeded long-time Assistant Scoutmaster Mark Edgar read the names of all thirty-nine Eagle Scouts and the year that they received their award and asked them to stand to be recognized.

Those in attendance were: Glen Carpenter (1966), Philip Delong Jr. (1970), Harley David Howdyshell (1970), John Spicer Jr. (1970), Mark Edgar (1978), Michael Stephenson (1978), Terry Bell (1981), Fred (Skip) Coomer Jr. (1981), James R. Stimmel (1982), David Harris (1982), Christopher Jewett (1983), Jerry Stimmel (1986), Michael Jewett (1988), Chad Snyder (1989), Jeff Stimmel (1989), Emery Biggs (2000), Matthew Carpenter (2002), Andrew Harris (2004), Kevin Smith (2009), Asa Houchin (2017), Jerry June (2018), and Anthony Hahn (2019).

Those Eagle Scouts unable to attend were: Larry Reese (1964), Robert Williamson (1966), Charles Bookman (1970–Deceased), Timothy Bookman (1970), Dale Bartow (1978), Rick Devore (1979), Jeff Mohler (1982), Angelo Cardaras (1999), Kyle Ellinger (1999), Nicklaus Green (2001), Seth Stimmel (2009), Tylor Stimmel (2011), Aaron Beougher (2012), Evin Stotts (2013), Bryon Lowry (2016), Jordan Dawson (2017), and Jayson James (2018).

After the conclusion of the dedication ceremony, everyone enjoyed refreshments in the fellowship hall at the church. A great evening was enjoyed by all.

Load comments